danaxserver.blogg.se

Amazon renegade legion centurion
Amazon renegade legion centurion




amazon renegade legion centurion

These sidebars contain information ranging from 1-sentence definitions to historical, literary and philological information, which can run for two or more pages.Īt first I was determined to read every footnote, so I could later brag about my scholarly knowledge of Middle Earth lore and Real Earth publishing history. The narrative of The Hobbit itself is sandwiched between Anderson's copius footnotes. Tolkien and a publishing history of the book (which makes up the bulk of the intro), along with some anecdotes on such things as runes and other mythological reference material. There is a 28-page Introduction, which includes a short bio of J.R.R. This annotated version is especially interesting and helpful. While the book is narrated as if it is being read aloud to children, the storyline is certainly one adults of all ages have enjoyed through the years-and continue to do so. Like The Hobbit was written for children in the UK back in 1937 (and was published a year later in the US).

amazon renegade legion centurion

While I remembered the basic plot and all the major characters, there were a lot of details I've forgotten. I first read The Hobbit way-back-when in junior high school and it was my first introduction to high fantasy literature. Anderson's The Annotated Hobbit, my sister Rox of Spazhouse, gave me years ago. In this case, the version I chose to read was Douglas A.

Amazon renegade legion centurion movie#

Until now, I've only re-read two other tales, which were also in response to upcoming movie buzz: Starship Troopers and Lord of the Rings (which I count as one story). Normally I don't re-read books, because there's so many other stories I have yet to discover. Instead, I prefer the "ordinary-people-in-extraordinary-circumstances" stories/games. Which is why The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings continue to appeal to me, whereas The Simarillion doesn't Seriously though, even after reading the Wikipedia synopsis, I not interested in delving into The Silmarillion much for the same reason I can't get into epic fantasy gaming (beyond 20th level in Dungeons & Dragons terms). If you're in league with the 560 5-star reviewers on Amazon, this may pique your interest and you'll want to immerse yourself into Middle Earth's backstory and all its epic glory.īut if you're like me, you'll save a bunch of time and be able to pursue other vital interests (like trolling through Facebook, or watching cute animal videos on YouTube). So here it is: The on-line " Cliff Notes" version of The Silmarillion. When I mentioned this to Rox, she suggested I read the synopsis on Wikipedia. Even the cool artwork made since my teen years, like the one above, hasn't inspired me to pick up Tolkien's tome a second time. I don't think I made it to the end of Chapter One.

amazon renegade legion centurion

(Insert the sound of a car screeching to a halt). Seeing my interest in all things Tolkien, my mom gave me The Silmarillion for Christmas one year.






Amazon renegade legion centurion